Apostolic Coverings? The Sky is Falling!

You know, I have tried to “submit” myself to some of these “Apostles” that I have “been under”. Unfortunately it almost always gets down to the question of whose Kingdom are we working to grow. When I read Paul’s writings, he makes it pretty clear that we are all partners in this venture. God is no respecter of mankind, and all have the same chance to be a child of God or become a child of satan.

NO WHERE in NT scripture are we taught that we “must be under a covering” to do the work of the calling on our life.

Here is an interesting link that I believe pretty well sums up this subject: 

http://www.spake.org/spake/articles/4print/p-covering.htm

I have found, at least in my ministry work, that most of these people who say you “must be covered” are not interested in teamwork, but in lordship over individuals and growing their own personal kingdoms.

There is only One Head of The Church, and His name is Jesus, The Christ, The Son of God.

Our ultimate accountability is to HIM and no man or woman. This has nothing to do with “everything done decent and in order” that Paul refers to in 1Corinthians 14:40. This verse is in reference to keeping things from getting to a point of chaos during worship services or meetings.

I am asked sometimes about submitting to a “covering”. I ask this question. When a person comes to Christ, does he or she sign a membership to the Body of Christ? No. We come to Him freely and He accepts us with open and loving arms. HIS only request is for us to repent and follow HIM. God isn’t interested in us building all these micro-kingdoms that are scattered about. If it isn’t about building His Kingdom, then we should have no part of it. The only membership He is interested in, is us being His Children. He writes our names in The Book of Life. It is a personal relationship with your Heavenly Father that matters to Jesus.

Well, what about ” don’t forsake the assembling together”, doesn’t that mean going to church? Let’s look at it and see.

Hebrews 10:24-26 (King James Version)

   24And let us consider one another to provoke unto love and to good works:  25Not forsaking the assembling of ourselves together, as the manner of some is; but exhorting one another: and so much the more, as ye see the day approaching26For if we sin wilfully after that we have received the knowledge of the truth, there remaineth no more sacrifice for sins,
So the primary reason for this verse is to “exhort one another”. To help one another “as the day approaches”, so that you don’t continue in sin. That doesn’t say you go to a church building and submit yourself to an “apostle” or “pastor” to be “exhorted”. We, as the Body, are to “exhort one another”. We, as the body, are to “edify one another”. This does not mean “you have” to submit to anyone, other than God.
What about the local church? Yes, by all means, I support the local church. It is a place of “worship” to The Lord. It is a place of fellow-shipping with other believers and it is a place to “equip and edify one another”. It never was intended to be a place where someone is “lorded over”. Too many churches and too many Christians have become idol worshippers of “their church”. They are so caught up in “their church” that they will miss what God is trying to say or do, because it doesn’t fit with “their churches doctrines”.
This whole concept of “submitting” to someone, does little to promote the team-work that Paul mentions in

2 Corinthians 6:1-3 (King James Version)

  1We then, as workers together with him, beseech you also that ye receive not the grace of God in vain.  2(For he saith, I have heard thee in a time accepted, and in the day of salvation have I succoured thee: behold, now is the accepted time; behold, now is the day of salvation.)  3Giving no offence in any thing, that the ministry be not blamed:
“Workers Together”!!! I help you to grow and you help me to grow in our personal walk with God and the end results come down to His Kingdom grows and He is Exalted. It is about unity in the Body, like a precision watch with all the gears meshed and running smoothly.
Finally, is the sky going to fall if you aren’t “under a covering”?
I don’t think so!!!!! Remember this one thing! God always looks at the heart. If your heart is tilted toward Him, then so what if you don’t quite buy into “religion”. Jesus didn’t either!!
Find your self a strong Bible believing, Spirit Filled and ALIVE church, that is more concerned about Him and what He wants, and not so much about what the latest “Apostolic, Prophetic ” word is.
Does that mean I am changing my position on Apostles and Prophets for today? NO, a hundred times over, NO!! I believe according to Ephesians 4 in the Five Fold ministry, and that Yes, it is for us today. Just be careful of who you submit to!
Are they building you up and equipping you for the work of the ministry? Are they helping you to grow in your walk with Jesus? Or, are they holding you back from the calling on your life, perhaps to build “their church”? Are they giving you good sound doctrine that lines up with God’s Holy Word, and not some mans’ commentary or some denominations doctrines?
“Seek ye first the Kingdom of God, and all His righteousness, and these things shall be added unto you” 
7 Comments

Filed under apologetics, Apostles, Bible, cessasionist, Charismatic, Christ, Christianity, church, evangelical, faith, God, Holy Spirit, Jesus, Jesus Christ, prophets, religion, theology

7 responses to “Apostolic Coverings? The Sky is Falling!

  1. enuring1

    I found this entry very interesting. It reflects a growing awareness me and many of my firends are grasping lately.

    I hope to read more.

  2. IWanthetruth

    http://www.oneplace.com/ministries/leading_the_way/

    Listen to this. It is excellent……

  3. lbolm

    Iwant,
    Thanks for the link to Dr. Youseff. He is a good teacher and this particuliar one is such an example.

  4. Ian Williams

    When I was very young, I found myself wondering what I would do with my life – I then saw a vision of myself with a priest’s collar on and dressed in the manner of a minister of the gospel – that was God speaking to me according to my “Jane-see-the-ball” frame of reference. Many years later, after I got “saved” and filled with the Holy Spiirit, I began to get a desire to be an Apostle. I shelved this and did not speak to anyone about it as it seemed too pretentious. Later, in a time of prayer and anointing over a friend to go an minister to his own race of people (Samoans) the Spirit of God rebuked my lack of faith and told me that He had called me to be an Apostle, “So act like one”. I prayed like as never before and the Power of God fell and the Spirit of Christ Himself came and stood in the midst of us and it was amazing!

    I later came to understand more of what it means to be a “sent one” of God, and how some who are called lose sight of the rightful purpose of their calling and begin to get grandiose ideas – those “super apostles” Paul wrote disparingly of. I have never called myself an apostle, refuse any attempt to be labeled, or to be given or to take a tiltle – it is an office, a function – as in, I am Ian the jeweler (my particular “tent-making”), not the Jeweler Ian, so I am Ian, who just happens to be an aposlte (sent one) of God, who is known by his fruitfulness. Paul called himself Paul an apostle of God, not The Apostle Paul, and Jesus was quick to say that we should not ascribe titles nor privleges, therefore anyone who ascribes himself a title is automatically in presumtion and error, even if that title is Pastor.

    Paul wrote in Hebrews 10:
    20. “And I did not preach to you about anything that represented material gain for yourselves, while I taught you in the market places and in the houses.
    33. “Money or gold or fine clothes, I did not cherish.
    34. “And you know well that my needs and [the needs of] those who are with me have been served by these hands of mine.

    Measure your leadership against this standard and see how they have twisted the scriptures to feather their nests and to fleeece the sheep. Small wonder that they can cook up such devilsh deceptions as the coverings doctrines to perpetuate their plundering of the parish and their proselytes.

    Shalom, Ian

  5. LeHunt

    I have heard so much talk of this in the fellowhsip that I attend. There is a check in my spirit concerning this. I believe that we are to submit ourselves to one another and serve onne another but the simple fact of the matter is this: If God entrusts an individual with a vision, God is looking to that idividual to carry HIS vision. NOT the Pastor of the church or Apostle Jane or Pastor Jill. IThis seems like a form or manipulation and control that is a form of witchcraft. I love my Pastor and would never disrespct him, but I am not so sure that the “covering” in which he is teaching is based in Scripture. It is my sincere desire to be in Divine order,. Please pray for me as I seek the face of God for His strategy.

  6. lbolm

    LeHunt,
    Thanks for coming by.
    Another term that is used often is “spiritual fathers”. This too can be taken to the extreme by those who want to “lord”over us.
    We are in this thing together as a team. It is much bigger than any one person’s ministry or denomination. When “The Body” comes to the full knowledge of that, then perhaps we will see “The Body” as it was intended by Jesus. His Blood is the only real “covering” we really need !

    Thanks for your comment and rest assured that God the Father knows all you are going through and is there for you.

    Love in Christ Jesus
    Jake

  7. Lee

    Jake,

    I agree with your post here. This appears to be a new version of the ‘shepherding’ movement of the ’70s & ’80s.

    One of the churches I attend (one weekday class) stresses the importance of a male covering for each single female. Presumably, the married females have their own husbands as ‘covering.’ I don’t see this as biblical either.

Leave a Reply

