How much “poop” do you want in your brownies?

I have been dealing with a situation that reminds me of a story I heard once.

Seems as if there was a father who had a couple of teenage daughters. He loved them very much and every Friday night he would bake them a batch of brownies. This was really something they looked forward to every Friday.

One Sunday, on the way home from church, the daughters asked their father if they could go to a movie with some of the other kids from church. The father asked them what movie it was, and they told him. Just so happens that he was familiar with this movie and knew that it might not be appropriate for his daughters to see.

“Girls, you know I love you, but this movie isn’t one that I think you should see”, said the dad.

“Aw, come on dad, all the girls from the youth group are going and besides that it only has a little ‘cussin’ in it and maybe a little “sexy stuff. It must be good dad, everybody going to it!”

“Girls, let me think about it and I will let you know next Friday” said the dad.

The father prayed about it and Friday came with an answer. As he was preparing the girls their brownies for that night, he got his answer, and put some special ingredients in the mix.

That night, the girls rushed into the kitchen and saw their brownies. Just as they were about to munch down, dad says ” Girls wait! You know that movie you asked me about, you know the one with a little “cussin” and a little “sexy stuff ? Well, I decided that if you will eat all of these brownies tonight, that I will consider letting you go to it”. 

“WOW! Really dad? That’s great!” the girls exclaimed!

“BUT WAIT a minute girls before you eat them. You should know that I put a special ingredient in them. You know, you said that the movie only had a little “cussin” and “sexy stuff” in it. Well you should know that there is a little dog poop in your brownies.”

The point to this story is, How much poop do you want in your brownies?

When we start making excuses for even a “little sin”, then you are giving the enemy, satan, just enough room to start operating in different areas of your life.  

1 Thessalonians 5:22 says; “Abstain from all appearance of evil.”

You know the old saying, ” if it looks like a duck and sounds like a duck, then it must be a duck”. Sin is sin, no matter how you package it up!

So the next time someone tells you something or ask you something that might not be in God’s will for you, just ask yourself, ” How much poop do I want in my brownies ?” 

11 Comments

Filed under apologetics, Apostles, Bible, cessasionist, Charismatic, Christ, Christianity, church, evangelical, faith, family, God, Holy Spirit, humor, Jesus, Jesus Christ, prophets, religion, theology, Uncategorized

11 responses to “How much “poop” do you want in your brownies?

  1. Then again, the father could have enough faith that his daughters would not be swayed by the film’s content. How can a parent shield children from the world’s ills? By teaching them to think for themselves.

  2. lbolm

    Hi ian,
    Thanks for coming by and posting.

    I have a question for you? Would you knowingly let your daughter or son do something that would bring harm to them?

  3. mbaker

    Er, Jake. Did you read this guys blog? Think you might want to since you are so sensitive about the wording on the posts on the SOJ.

  4. lbolm

    mbaker,
    Thanks for the headsup. I looked at it afterwards. It doesn’t suprise me though.

    Hopefully, however, my response might make him think about his.

    Anyway, I am off and out of here for the rest of the weekend.
    Catch you later!
    Be Blessed in The Lord Jesus

    Love in Christ Jesus
    Jake

  5. Hi guys,
    Thanks for looking at my blog. I know I’m not your target audience, but neither my blog nor my comments are meant to offend, if that’s what you’re getting at.

    Of course I wouldn’t let my daughter do something that would bring harm to her, but I am realistic enough to realise that I as a parent can only do so much before she’s out on her own in the big, wide world. And I also know that to shield her from things she’s going to found out about sooner or later is futile. That’s why she already knows about sex. condoms, AIDS, has been met friends of ours who are openly gay… It’s reality, it’s life. Why pretend it doesn’t exist? She gets our love, support, guidance and above all, time. Hope yours do to.

  6. lbolm

    ian,
    I didn’t think you would let your child get into harm. And yes, we have to be realistic enough to know we have limits on our own. No one is saying it doesn’t exist.
    I took the time to give you a few of the many passages that God’s Holy Word gives us concerning children.
    Pay particuliar attention to Proverbs 22:6

    Psalm 127:3
    Lo, children are an heritage of the LORD: and the fruit of the womb is his reward.
    Proverbs 22:6
    Train up a child in the way he should go: and when he is old, he will not depart from it.
    Proverbs 4:1
    Hear, ye children, the instruction of a father, and attend to know understanding.
    Proverbs 8:32
    Now therefore hearken unto me, O ye children: for blessed are they that keep my ways.
    Proverbs 13:22
    A good man leaveth an inheritance to his children’s children: and the wealth of the sinner is laid up for the just.

    I could go on and on with this, but the main thing to remember is this. These children are our future and unless we teach them right ways and in the ways of God, then we as stewards of God’s inheritance, have dropped the ball. The enemy, satan, loves it when we allow our children to just ” do as you please”. My ex-wife used to tell me about our son, ” He has a mind of his own”, and she raised him that way. Later in life when things started going a little astray, she would ask for my advice. All I could say at the time is, ” Well, he has a mind of his own”. Sure, our children are to be encouraged to think for them self, but as parents we are to show them ALL of the choices.

    Thanks and God Bless
    Jake

  7. lbolm

    Sure, our children are to be encouraged to think for them self, but as parents we are to show them ALL of the choices.

    And just to add to that:
    There are consequences for choosing wrong over right and rewards for choosing good over evil.

  8. I think dysfunctional families can be found in equal measure in fundamentalist as well as athiest households. Loving your children with guidance coming from the heart is the best way to ensure they grow into the adults they were meant to be.

  9. lbolm

    On that we can agree!
    Thanks for coming by.

    Jake

  10. J.W. Stansell

    This drives home a very important truth! Thanks for sharing!

  11. Janet Stansell

    I liked your story Jake. I agree that we should be careful what our children as well as we watch.

Leave a Reply

