Salvation isn’t just mentioned in the NT ?

Believe it or not, the “Concept of Salvation” isn’t limited to the NT.
I want to share a few verses with you all, to remind us that Salvation has ALWAYS been available to those who turn to The Lord.
THIS IS NOT a discussion of “salvation outside of Jesus”, nor salvation through “works”, BUT to remind us that YHWH’s Grace and Mercy has always been available.

Exodus 15
1Then sang Moses and the children of Israel this song unto the LORD, and spake, saying, I will sing unto the LORD, for he hath triumphed
gloriously: the horse and his rider hath he thrown into the sea.

2The LORD is my strength and song, and he is become my salvation: he is my God, and I will prepare him an habitation; my father’s God, and I will exalt him.

3The LORD is a man of war: the LORD is his name.

Or consider this one, where someone doesn’t stay “with The Lord”;

Deuteronomy 32:15 (King James Version)

15But Jeshurun waxed fat, and kicked: thou art waxen fat, thou art grown thick, thou art covered with fatness; then he forsook God which made him, and lightly esteemed the Rock of his
salvation.

Consider the prayers of the mother of the Prophet Samuel;
1 Samuel 2

1And Hannah prayed, and said, My heart rejoiceth in the LORD, mine horn is exalted in the LORD: my mouth is enlarged over mine enemies; because I
rejoice in thy salvation.

2There is none holy as the LORD: for there is none beside thee: neither is there any rock like our God.

3Talk no more so exceeding proudly; let not arrogancy come out of your mouth: for the LORD is a God of knowledge, and by him actions are weighed.

Listen to this one;

2 Samuel 22:3 (King James Version)

3The God of my rock; in him will I trust: he is my shield, and the horn of my salvation, my high tower, and my refuge, my saviour; thou savest me from violence.

or listen to the next few;

2 Samuel 22:3 (King James Version)

3The God of my rock; in him will I trust: he is my shield, and the horn of my salvation, my high tower, and my refuge, my saviour; thou savest me from violence.

2 Samuel 22:51 (King James Version)

51He is the tower of salvation for his king: and sheweth mercy to his anointed, unto David, and to his seed for evermore.

2 Samuel 23:4-6 (King James Version)

4And he shall be as the light of the morning, when the sun riseth, even a morning without clouds; as the tender grass springing out of the earth by clear shining after rain.

5Although my house be not so with God; yet he hath made with me an everlasting covenant, ordered in all things, and sure: for this is all my salvation, and all my desire,
although he make it not to grow.
2 Chronicles 6:41 (King James Version)

41Now therefore arise, O LORD God, into thy resting place, thou, and the ark of thy strength: let thy priests, O LORD God, be clothed with salvation, and let thy saints rejoice in
goodness.

There are 161 verses in the OT that deal with being “saved”, many of which means to be “saved from an enemy” as in during a battle. While those verses focus on “The natural”, the “spiritual side” is a shadow of and alluded to in just the few verse that I posted above.

Notice the terms that are used in some of the language. “Rock of my Salvation”, “tower of salvation”, “shield and horn of my salvation” and many more.

I didn’t even get into the hundreds of other verses.

As I stated before, THIS IS NOT to allude to salvation outside of Christ, BUT to show The Agape Love of God The Father, that has ALWAYS been available to those who would put Him first in their lives.

What do you think ?

1 Comment

Filed under Charismatic, church, evangelical, faith, Jesus Christ, religion, Spirit of God

One response to “Salvation isn’t just mentioned in the NT ?

  1. Cindy

    Hebrews 11

Leave a Reply

